Email to a comic

April 27, 2007 at 3:18 am (blog, Los Angeles)

M

Thanks very much for yesterday, it was great to see you so confident
and in your element on stage. A curious thing happened to me on the
way to the Comedy Store though. Across the road from it is a Cuban
cigar place. Mike Tyson was sat outside smoking one and talking to one
or two people.

When I was 17 I was cycling uphill, at speed, to catch Tyson’s first
fight with the UK’s Frank Bruno. The front wheel of my bike came off.
I came to in hospital. My sister was there, in tears, my dad,
distraught — half of my face was purple, my upper lip stitched and
bloodied and I had lost a front tooth; a bit like how Bruno ended up.
When I saw him last night I thought I would share this memory with
him, and perhaps ask him to pose in a picture with me.

Then, remembering his history, I decided not to in case it cost me
another tooth.

Keep up the good work.

P

Leave a Reply

