Edinburgh, city of culture II

August 23, 2006 at 7:21 am (Family & Friends)

i-pod.jpg

A fellow blogger asks if I will write more about my recent trip to Edinburgh. On my way to see an overpriced show on Saturday, my friend Rich and his girlfriend stopped at a shop called Richer Sounds (no relation). I decided to buy headphones for my i-Pod (did I just say ‘my i-Pod?’) Anyway, the guy in the store showed me this £30 set ($456) — black. But I got white. When I get home, however, I realised my i-Pod is black.

4 Comments

  1. doris said,

    hahah. Doh.

  2. ayworld said,

    A couple of things. First I agree that the Edinburgh Fringe Festival is generally over priced. I’ve lived here three years now and I think I’ve now crack it! It’s taken a while and lots of digging, but there are ways of getting cheap and free tickets to acts that are actually good!

    A perfect example is your sister…oh no, I’ve just realised, she is one I paid fully price for! But I only went to see her because she did a 7 minute free set in a packed tent on Fringe Sunday. I thought she was great and took my sister and another friend along with me. I was the guy who sat straight ahead of her on the front row and rushed out for a toilet stop part way through her show. Your sister chatted to my sister in the meantime and kindly waited for me to come back!!

    Anyway, my point, the Fringe Sunday is a great way to see free stuff and work out what might be good. The key to the Festival is busting through the reviews. You need to know the people to trust, better still you need friends in Edinburgh who have learnt the ropes.

    Another tactic is to get a internet magazine to get you free tickets in exchange for a review or two. Then there is the half price hut. Don’t buy tickets for shows you don’t know about, keep an eye out for names you recognise, particularly earlier in the week. If you are around at the begining of the Fringe you can go to the previews and half price days too.

    The Edinburgh International Festival is different to the Fringe and they have some great prices. They have realised they need to keep the crowds coming. You can get last minute £5 tickets for sold out performances, you just need to queue with a book for an hour – it can really be worth it. Matinees can cost a fraction of the evening price and means you can keep the evenings free for the comedy shows.

    It’s a good time of year to try bargaining!! Do come again!

  3. peyvand said,

    Thanks Ayworld. Good to see a Scott advising an Iranian on how to bargain. It was nice to see you took your sister to see mine. The Fringe is a wonderful place and Edinburgh a truly spectacular city. Will of course be back.

  4. doris said,

    I realised I was dyslexic when I went to a toga party dressed as a goat.
    Marcus Brigstocke at the Assembly Rooms

    The right to bear arms is slightly less ludicrous than the right to arm bears.
    Chris Addison at the Pleasance

    My dad is Irish and my mum is Iranian, which meant that we spent most of our family holidays in Customs.
    Patrick Monahan at the Gilded Balloon

    The dodo died. Then Dodi died, Di died and Dando died. Dido must be sh*tting herself.
    Colin & Fergus at the Pleasance

    My parents are from Glasgow which means they’re incredibly hard, but I was never smacked as a child… well maybe one or two grams to get me to sleep at night.
    Susan Murray at the Underbelly

    Is it fair to say that there’d be less litter in Britain if blind people were given pointed sticks?
    Adam Bloom at the Pleasance

    My mum and dad are Scottish but they moved down to Wolverhampton when I was two, ’cause they wanted me to sound like a twat.

    Susan Murray at the Underbelly

    You have to remember all the trivia that your girlfriend tells you, because eventually you get tested. She’ll go: “What’s my favourite flower?” And you murmur to yourself: “Sh*t, I wasn’t listening… Self-raising?”

    Addy Van-Der-Borgh at the Assembly Rooms

    I saw that show, 50 Things To Do Before You Die. I would have thought the obvious one was “Shout For Help”.

    Mark Watson, Rhod Gilbert at the Tron

    I went out with an Irish Catholic. Very frustrating. You can take the Girl out of Cork…

    Markus Birdman at the Pod Deco

    Got a phone call today to do a gig at a fire station. Went along. Turned out it was a bloody hoax.

    Adrian Poynton at the Pleasance

    Employee of the month is a good example of how somebody can be both a winner and a loser at the same time.
    Demetri Martin at the Assembly Rooms

    A dog goes into a hardware store and says: “I’d like a job please”. The hardware store owner says: “We don’t hire dogs, why don’t you go join the circus?” The dog replies: “What would the circus want with a plumber”.
    Steven Alan Green at C34

    Hey – you want to feel really handsome? Go shopping at Asda.
    Brendon Burns at the Pleasance

    It’s easy to distract fat people. It’s a piece of cake.

    Chris Addison at the Pleasance

    I enjoy using the comedy technique of self-deprecation – but I’m not very good at it.

    Arnold Brown at The Stand

    If you’re being chased by a police dog, try not to go through a tunnel, then on to a little seesaw, then jump through a hoop of fire. They’re trained for that.

    Milton Jones at the Underbelly

Leave a Reply

